Sports Illustrated previews 5 part coverage of OSU allegations

Sports Illustrated previews five part coverage of OSU allegations

Posted: Updated:

On Tuesday morning at 8:00 AM, Sports Illustrated will begin its five part series that examines Oklahoma State University's ascent to a national power.

Titled "The Dirty Game", the Sports Illustrated special investigative report promises to look into how the program transformed from a struggling one to a national powerhouse. SI reports is the result of a 10-month investigation into the Stillwater football program and includes interviews with more than 60 former OSU players from 2001-2010.

SI says the investigation is going to show how the university used money, academic cheating, drugs, and sex to win over players and climb to national prominence.

On Monday, Oklahoma State head coach Mike Gundy once they get all the information, the administration will review it and see where mistakes were made.

Here's a preview of what will be on SI.com Tuesday, courtesy of insidesportsillustrated.com.


•    Part 1: Money (On SI.com Tuesday, 9/10 and in the 9/16/13 SI issue): SI finds that OSU used a bonus system orchestrated by an assistant coach whereby players were paid for their performance on the field, with some stars collecting $500 or more per game. In addition, the report finds that OSU boosters and at least two assistant coaches funneled money to players via direct payments and a system of no-show and sham jobs. Some players say they collected more than $10,000 annually in under-the-table payouts.
•    Part 2: Academics (On SI.com Wednesday, 9/11): Widespread academic misconduct, which included tutors and other OSU personnel completing coursework for players, and professors giving passing grades for little or no work, all in the interest of keeping top players eligible.
•    Part 3: Drugs (On SI.com Thursday, 9/12): OSU tolerated and at times enabled recreational drug use, primarily through a specious counseling program that allowed some players to continue to use drugs while avoiding penalties. The school's drug policy was selectively enforced, with some stars going unpunished despite repeated positive tests.
•    Part 4: Sex (On SI.com Friday, 9/13): OSU's hostess program, Orange Pride, figured so prominently in the recruitment of prospects that the group more than tripled in size under Miles. Both Miles and Gundy took the unusual step of personally interviewing candidates. Multiple former players and Orange Pride members say that a small subset of the group had sex with recruits, a violation of NCAA rules.
•    Part 5: The Fallout (On SI.com Tuesday, 9/17, and in the 9/23/13 SI issue): SI finds that many players who were no longer useful to the football program were cast aside, returning to worlds they had hoped to escape. Some have been incarcerated, others live on the streets, many have battled drug abuse and a few have attempted suicide.

  • FOX25 Slideshows

  • Oklahoma City ThunderMore>>

  • Thunder trade Thabeet

    Thunder trade Thabeet

    Wednesday, August 27 2014 12:06 AM EDT2014-08-27 04:06:26 GMT
    The Oklahoma City Thunder traded backup center Hasheem Thabeet to the Philadelphia 76ers. The Thunder send cash and Thabeet in exchange for a protected second round pick in 2015 and a trade exception.The move saves OKC $1.25 million that they would have had to pay Thabeet if he had been on the roster August 31st. Oklahoma City now has about $2.8 million in cap space to tinker with the roster that has 14 players.It's expected Philly will waive Thabeet to avoid paying him $1.25 million.
    The Oklahoma City Thunder traded backup center Hasheem Thabeet to the Philadelphia 76ers. The Thunder send cash and Thabeet in exchange for a protected second round pick in 2015 and a trade exception.The move saves OKC $1.25 million that they would have had to pay Thabeet if he had been on the roster August 31st. Oklahoma City now has about $2.8 million in cap space to tinker with the roster that has 14 players.It's expected Philly will waive Thabeet to avoid paying him $1.25 million.
  • Oklahoma City Thunder unveil 2014-2015 schedule

    Oklahoma City Thunder unveil 2014-2015 schedule

    Wednesday, August 13 2014 6:20 PM EDT2014-08-13 22:20:10 GMT
    The Oklahoma City announced next season's regular season schedule will tip off on the road against Portland and open at home just two days later versus Denver.
    The Oklahoma City announced next season's regular season schedule will tip off on the road against Portland and open at home just two days later versus Denver.
  • Kevin Durant steps away from Team USA

    Kevin Durant steps away from Team USA

    Thursday, August 7 2014 6:47 PM EDT2014-08-07 22:47:15 GMT
    Oklahoma City Thunder star Kevin Durant is withdrawing from Team USA for the remainder of the summer. Durant issued this statement detailing his decision.."This was an extremely difficult decision as I take great pride in representing our country. I know that I owe it to my USA Basketball teammates to be totally invested in the experience. After going through training camp with USAB, I realized I could not fulfill my responsibilities to the team from both a time and energy standpoint. I need ...
    Oklahoma City Thunder star Kevin Durant is withdrawing from Team USA for the remainder of the summer. Durant issued this statement detailing his decision.."This was an extremely difficult decision as I take great pride in representing our country. I know that I owe it to my USA Basketball teammates to be totally invested in the experience. After going through training camp with USAB, I realized I could not fulfill my responsibilities to the team from both a time and energy standpoint. I need ...
  • Oklahoma State CowboysMore>>

  • Oklahoma State loses to top ranked Florida State 37-31

    Oklahoma State loses to top ranked Florida State 37-31

    Sunday, August 31 2014 12:45 AM EDT2014-08-31 04:45:37 GMT
    It's pretty widely known that OSU head coach Mike Gundy wasn't thrilled by opening up against Florida State. 
    It's pretty widely known that OSU head coach Mike Gundy wasn't thrilled by opening up against Florida State. 
  • Oklahoma State opens season against defending champions Florida State

    Oklahoma State opens season against defending champions Florida State

    Friday, August 29 2014 6:36 PM EDT2014-08-29 22:36:44 GMT
    The Oklahoma State Cowboys are kicking their season off with the eyes of the nation upon them as they play the defending champions Florida State in Dallas.
    The Oklahoma State Cowboys are kicking their season off with the eyes of the nation upon them as they play the defending champions Florida State in Dallas.
  • Mike Gundy know how good Seminoles are

    Mike Gundy know how good Seminoles are

    Wednesday, August 27 2014 9:49 PM EDT2014-08-28 01:49:40 GMT
    When discussing Florida State, Oklahoma State's opening opponent, there are many ways to say they're good. They're the defending National Champs. They won all 14 games last season and they've got 14 starters returning from that team.They're preseason number one in all the polls. They've got the defending Heisman Trophy winner. Seven of their players are either first or second team All American according to USA Today. I could go on with more but OSU head coach Mike Gundy has another way to sh...
    When discussing Florida State, Oklahoma State's opening opponent, there are many ways to say they're good. They're the defending National Champs. They won all 14 games last season and they've got 14 starters returning from that team.They're preseason number one in all the polls. They've got the defending Heisman Trophy winner. Seven of their players are either first or second team All American according to USA Today. I could go on with more but OSU head coach Mike Gundy has another way to sh...
  • FOX 25 FeaturesMore>>

  • Tell Me Something Good

    Tell Me Something Good

    Tired of all the bad news? Looking for some good news? Tell Me Something Good, does just that! FOX 25's Mike Brooks finds the good in Oklahoma and tells you all about it.
    Tired of all the bad news? Looking for some good news? Tell Me Something Good, does just that! FOX 25's Mike Brooks finds the good in Oklahoma and tells you all about it.
  • Waste Watch

    Waste Watch

    How are your tax dollars being spent? FOX 25 Waste Watch tracks whether local, state and federal governments, or any groups, are using your money wisely... or wasting it.
    How are your tax dollars being spent? FOX 25 Waste Watch tracks whether local, state and federal governments, or any groups, are using your money wisely... or wasting it.
Powered by WorldNow
Powered by 

WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KOKH. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.